top of page

Life is good!

[San Diego] 

Life is good and we ain't even started yet!  As soon as I got my pack situated and left the airport there was Bob! (Trail Angel) right at the curb where he said he'd be to pick up thru-hikers. I met him and Rachel and we were off to meet two more (Michelle and Olivier) at the bus stop! What a whirlwind. Here and before I know it four new friends. And yet more at the house. I always find myself in excellent (and nearly immediate) company on these treks...  

I'm in San Diego for an extra day. I figured I'd want the time to adjust and explore before I go go GO!  Saw a group of hikers off at 4:30am this morning! Heard Bob hollering "five minutes to go time!" and I popped out of my sleeping bag ready to hop in the van a day early (mighta helped that it felt more like 7:30am to me).  I spent the first half of my day organizing my pack for the last time (that reminds me, there's still a bell pepper in the fridge!), reminding myself that while I am not ultralight I do have a clue what I'm doing and that all shall be well.  The latter half of the day consisted of my first Uber ride WHOOT! and a visit to Codoronado Beach. WHAT an excellent way to chill before the big day... Touched the Pacific Ocean for the first time, so that was pretty cool.  Now I'm back at Bob's. Waiting to go to dinner and get matching tattoos with my new friends... temporary butterfly tattoos I found in the hiker box. I mean who would leave that?! 🦋 

COMMENT:
RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page