top of page

TAME AND TIME

As I begin my last week of work in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Northeast Georgia, I give you...

the mean mug

...which in all actuality, is meant to communicate the utmost endearment.

Throwin' back to my first year in Wilderness Therapy! These guys, along with so many excellent people, helped mold and shape who I am today. I am eternally grateful and changed for the better thanks to...

125 shifts and roughly 1,000 days in the Therapeutic Wilderness, 2,000 sound offs and a couple thou foot checks, a handful of Rabun summits, uncountable embers cause I'm so BUSTO! *wink* endless g-circs with umpty supports and a bazillion relates, quite a few pieces of constructive feedback and "all of the positive feedback I've ever given you," a Big Booty, a Little Booty, "10 poopy boots. HA! HA! HA!" and "don't get me started on the cold B&R..." NEIN! 8 days a week, 7ish houses/couches of supposed "real world" residence, 6+ years in the Field, 5 Woods Birthdays, 4 Woods Christmases, 3 Mean Mugs, Group 2 (et al.) and the single best dream job I have ever had.

And now it's time to turn the page.

Cheers to new adventures!!!!

Tame means to establish ties... You run the risk of weeping a little, if you let yourself get tamed.

-The Little Prince, The Fox

Let's take some time to discuss time...

The time is fast approaching! Interesting how that phrase can be both exciting and terrifying. It is all a matter of perspective. As I approach the "one month out" mark of my walk from Mexico to Canada, I often feel as if I have so little time and so much to do.

Much ado about nothing, because what I really want is to just skip all of this anxious preparation and get to the point that I have so much time and so little to do... as Wonka would say. Perhaps I ought to just eat more chocolate. #goals #oneday

I am fully aware that it is a mindset, to be taken on at any time. There it goes again! Time. What is time? Time for what? Do I have time for what? Can you even have time? Am I doing enough with the time that I have? Will there ever be enough...

My Grandmother often says, "you have all the time that there is." It's what I choose to do with that time that gets me so tripped up. I take on too much. I recently stumbled on this quote: Relentlessly prune bullshit, don't wait to do the things that matter, and savor the time you have. Hm.

What would that look like?

Am I on time or in time? Will I make it? What is it? Can one make time? What if I don't? Isn't that ok? I find I try to make time for it all and just end up taking time away from myself. That's why I choose to steal away and go for a really long walk now and then... to be One Day, at a time.

Another quote I bumped into, thanks to a friend: Time is such a wonderful gift. You're not running out you're really running in. Or perhaps I am going to walk in time. Sounds rhythmic. I like that.

IT'S TIME.

So meet me in the streets

In the dark, in your bare feet

Meet me in a place like your heart

Drop a phat beat

Wind begins to blow

It's a sweet validation

Nature has her signs

And they're clear affirmations

We Are on Time - HOKA, Nahko and Medicine for the People

COMMENT:
RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page