top of page

There and Back Again


Leaving Santiago was tough. But I returned to my home and woods home with renewed vigor and gratitude. As I got back to "the grind" a friend of mine continued "the walk" to The End of the World and back again, through Portugal, back into Spain, discovering that thuis is overal, en dat is oke.

Along the Camino we experienced many LIES. One sign would tell us there were only 4K to the next village and not 200 meters further another sign would say that, well actually... it would be 6.7 kilometers more. Life is a bit like that. At work they teach us this equation: E + E = E. Any given Event could turn out differently than I Expected, and that's going to affect how I feel about it (Emotions). Acceptance is key. If I accept change and expect the unexpected, then my life is limitless!

I have sometimes envied my friend the choice to live nomadically. Not saying I didn't have the choice, just that I made a different one. I love wholeheartedly my own choice, to live and work with youth in the Blue Ridge Mountains. It has not felt like the end of a journey at all, more like another rabbit trail... or was Spain the rabbit trail? Whatever. I think life is a collection of rabbit trails, all strung together and meant to branch out, like Flopsy, Mopsy and Cottontail.

https://youtu.be/TwVQC-H7r8l

Photo Cred: Lauren Schroer

Cause here's the thing.

I get to go back.

That's right folks... I am going back to Spain. I have been offered the amazing opportunity to co-lead a pilgrimage along the Portuguese Way!

COMMENT:
RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page