top of page

A León

Back at it again. Time to relive some memories through blog space.




 

I left off in Burgos. Took a day to rest there, and a lotta folks caught up. A "camvergence," of sorts, as always seems the case in bigger cities. I can't say I loved this city, tho many have raved about it... maybe I just had a bad taste in my mouth after the loooong walk in through an ugly industrial section at the end of my longest day. I was the "walking dead" into Burgos. However, I think I had better taste for it after my chocolate loving friend Ronnie and I discovered THE BEST chocolate con churros along the way! Good job Burgos. ;) And when we found out we could get chocolate con churros para llevar I was happy to leave the city... been spending way too much money, CHA-CHING! The next day we walked to Hontanas, but the albergue was full of our friends! - no room at the inn - We walked on, content with good conversation for an extra 10K. Grateful to have done so too! Because the next place was B-E-A-U-tiful! Castrojeriz. A castle on a hill and a glorious sunset ended our already gorgeous day.

Photo Cred: Ronnie K.

The days just got prettier and prettier from there! Weather was FANtastic on the day to Fromista. Stayed at an albergue called Estrellas on one of the starriest nights on the Camino. Appropriate. Just lovely. Great conversations too. The heights and depths of that day were remarkable... As I drew near to the halfway point of my trip, the eventually inevitable distancing from my group had me soaking up every moment.

So we carried on, to Carrion de los Condes. Fun times were had, slip-and-sliding around a supermarket, ordering coffee and chocolate and churros by the dozen, practicing Spanish via flash cards ("squirrel... ardilla!"), enjoying music in the streets, singing nuns (Photo Cred: Ben P.) and a Spanish Mass. We bought all of the ingredients for pancakes and forgot the milk, because we were actin' a fool at the grocery. Ah well, c'est sa!

At Terradillos de los Templarious - say that five times fast! - for the umptieth time, I found myself dragging my feet and stopping WAY short of my goal, to be with friends - not to mention my callous *cough*blister*cough* needed some rest. In order to enjoy the scenic route with my crew, I set myself up for a choice between 27K, 45K or sleeping under the starts the next night... And because it was time for me to move on, I knew I would do the 45.

Photo Cred: Ronnie K.

I walked with my dearest friends through the halfway point. And we celebrated together. I was blessed with time to walk and chat with all. Stopped for lunch and a midday sock swap in Sahagún. Then we took the road less traveled and wound up at what seemed like a deserted albergue, the one at 27K where my friends had planned to stop. There, in the middle of nowhere along the Via Romana (scenic camino) I did finally part with my crew. They didn't stay there, but ended up rejoining the Real Camino, whilst I went ahead to Reliegos. There was only one crazy enough to join me, and I was grateful for his company, from the moment we were each other's first pilgrim to have met.

Thank you Ben, for walking with me. Thank you for your sincerity and supporting me through loss. For rocking out to Fleetwood Mac's "You Can Go Your Own Way!" And for the hugs when I found out that my step-grandmother had died that day.

Al día siguiente, camino a León.

 

The Fellowship of the Camino

COMMENT:
RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page