top of page

I take a selfie with a goat


Following the descent from the Alto del Perdón I joined a fellow pilgrim and friend on a side trip to la iglesia, Santa María de Eunate - an octagonal church at which one receives blessing for walking 'round barefoot.

Such a peaceful experience, and a good one to follow forgiveness! When leaving the church we received "buena suerte" via a local who gifted is some Rosemary, for good luck and better smell... ;)

I walked into Puente la Reina with friends and enjoyed a beautiful town - grateful for a beautiful evening to walk about with my dear dear new amigos.

The next day, I chose intentionally to walk alone, to continue to reflect on forgiveness and re-learned a valuable lesson. One that a friend from another walk taught me, and that is: "when you make a decision to do one thing, you are giving up something else... And that's OK." (shouts out, Sun Bear) For choosing to walk alone I gained so so so much! And I also "missed" the opportunity to be in community with my beloved friends. That evening I was overwhelmed with sadness at the thought of walking away from them when I had to pick up the pace. Again, the fear crept in. But! After a conversation with my dear friend Grace, I was reminded of how much I am loved. I decided not to fret anymore, but to walk in that TRUTH. I AM LOVED, therefore I walk in love... And all will be well. The next day I walked with friends. I learned some of a new language. Well, at least... Ik probeer het. I sang Edelweiss at a well with excellent acoustics! Ik loop acheruit, to enjoy the view behind us. I took a selfie with a goat.

That day I stopped short of my original plan, to enjoy the Caminunity. And had the great pleasure of cooking up a stir fry for over a dozen people! The energy around the dinner table that evening made me want to burst from joy!!!!

Photo Cred: Jaeho, the Chef

Be well.

COMMENT:
RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page