top of page

Gear List

Few people know how to take a walk.

The qualifications are endurance,

plain clothes, old shoes,

an eye for nature,

good humor, vast curiosity,

good speech, good silence

and nothing too much.

Ralph Waldo Emerson, Country Life, 1858

My Gear List! For your nerdy pleasure. Don't worry, I'm one too… I love lists. Maybe they're a little cheesey, but I love cheese too. And, because I recently had a nightmare in which I'd forgotten to pack my passport for an international flight - Eek! - I've spent the past week obsessively picking through, sorting out and setting aside the things that I think will need for this trip. A few disclaimers before I begin: First off, I'll admit it. The fo-fur vest is a WANT not a NEED. I am aware that fleece or down would be more practical, but wear's the fun in that? Did you see what I did there? Besides, it's my favorite piece of winter gear at work, and that's in the wilderness, so it's proven itself…so to speak. *ehem* Justification. Second, it is subject to change. My pack is only 30L and with all of this $#!% it's pretty tight. So we'll see. I may drop some things. I'm open to thoughts on what those things might be? The sleeping bag takes up most of the space, but I've pretty much decided that-no matter how tempted - I will not go with just a liner and "hope" that all the albergues have wool blankets. I'm all about being self-suficient. Third, I've included logos of some of the brands I use in the drawing - just FYI. Not because I'm flaunty about that ish, but I think they deserve credit for making good gear. Shouts out Osprey! Not carrying anything from them this trip, but you should ask me about the time my pack burst into flame and they replaced it for me... It's a good story.

CAMINO GEAR LIST CLOTHES

Sneakers Sandals w/ Carabiner 3 Pair Socks 2 Pair Bike Shorts Long Bike Tights Pants Dress 2 Bras Short Sleeve Long Sleeve w/ Hood Long Sleeve Button Down

Stuff Sack Fo-Fur Vest (and it's reversible!) Water Resistant Jacket Poncho/Ground/Bug/Tarp Gaiters Buff Beanie Hat

Gloves Sunglasses ACCESSORIES 30 L Pack w/ Waterproof Cover 1.5 L Water Bottle w/ Straw Sleeping Bag and Liner w/ Waterproof Stuff Sack Waterproof Pouch w/ Passport and Cards (make copies) iPhone w/ Headphones and Lightning Cord Various Wall Chargers and Adapter External Charger Traveling Book (for flight) Journal/Sketch Book & Pens Headlamp/Batteries Swiss Army Knife (to mail ahead) Lighter Paracord Tupperware Spoon Basic Toiletries and First Aid Ear Plugs Needle/Thread Safety Pins

Duct Tape 2 Handkerchiefs Bar Soap Hand Sani Wipes

Ziplock Bags FOOD EmergenC Salami Cheese #youbestbelive Chocolate

I am debating whether or not to bring an alcohol stove. Hot water for tea and soup... maybe coffee-wouldn't that be a dream? It weights nothing, but-as you can see-the things I would want to carry if I had it contribue to my load. And it may turn out I don't need it? Certainly a luxry for colder months. I have Lekis (trekking poles), but I'm not sure I'll be able to fly with them, so I think I'll just pick up a stick.

I believe you're supposed to bring something from home to leave along the way at some point. So, I've got a stone from the mountains and a shell from the sea where I'm from. Another trail I'd like to do one day... Mountains to Sea! Heart North Carolina *Andy Griffith voice* My Home State.

UPDATE!!!! (2/20)

Soooo, it's supposed to be a "shakedown," but I decided to shake things up!

I upgraded to a larger pack, the Exos 38L - looks like I will be carrying an Osprey on this adventure!!!! And I'm super grateful, because it has a lot more support and comfort than my day pack. Aaaand because it has much more space, I've made a few other "small" changes... I swapped one sleeping bag for another - slightly warmer - and decided to take a sleeping pad.

ADDITIONS

38L Pack

20 Degree Bag

Thermarest Pad Town T-shirt

Lightweight Sweater

Pashmina Scarf (definitely a luxury!) Buff Pair Socks

Lära Bars

All of these things are subject to be chucked, but hey, with a larger pack one can afford more creature comforts... Things that I HAVE been shedding in the past few days are anxiety, worry and stress, and I'm hoping I can leave them all well behind when the plane finally lifts off. #GoLite

COMMENT:
RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page